Lebanon Forms New Government after Protracted Deadlock

  • Local

More than eight months after Future Movement leader Saad Hariri was named to form Lebanon's new government, a Cabinet of 30 ministers, drawn from most sides of the country's political spectrum, was finally announced on Friday after a protracted deadlock caused by political wrangling over ministerial shares.

The new government is set to hold its first session on Saturday morning.

Hariri headed to the Baabda Palace to meet with President Michel Aoun, ahead of the government formation, where they were later joined by Parliament Speaker Nabih Berri.

Speaking following the line-up announcement, Hariri apologized to the Lebanese for the protracted delay in the government formation, saying that the new Cabinet has an array of issues to deal with.

“What matters today is to realize how the government should function, and to be aware of the importance of solidarity and cooperation so that we work as a homogenous team,” Hariri stressed.

“The problems facing the country are known by everyone. The time of sedative and temporary solutions is over,” he said. “We have a lot of work to do. We can no longer bury our heads in the sand. The solution lies in setting out a clear project and launching serious reforms that must not be compromised.”

"The solution doesn't consist in theories and populist ideas. There are issues that cannot not handle procrastination and settlements. Cooperation between ministers is a must so that we would rise up to challenges," Hariri stated.

This is the third Cabinet to be headed by Hariri.

Below is the lineup of Lebanon's new government:

- Deputy Prime Minister: Ghassan Hasbani (Lebanese Forces)

- Minister of Finance: Ali Hassan Khalil (Amal Movement)

- Minister of Interior: Rayya Al-Hassan (Future Movement)

- Minister of Defense: Elias Bou Saab (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of Foreign Affairs: Gebran Bassil (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of Energy: Nada Boustany (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of Health: Jamil Jabak (Hezbollah)

- Minister of Education: Akram Shuhayyeb (Progressive Socialist Party)

- Minister of Justice: Albert Serhan (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of Information: Jamal Al-Jarrah (Future Movement)

- Minister of Industry: Wael Abu Faour (Progressive Socialist Party)

- Minister of Agriculture: Hassan Al-Lakis (Amal Movement)

- Minister of Economy: Mansour Bteish (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of Social Affairs: Richard Kouyoumjian (Lebanese Forces)

- Minister of Environment: Fadi Jreissati (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of Tourism: Avedis Guidanian (Tashnag)

- Minister of Labor: Kamil Abu Sleiman (Lebanese Forces)

- Minister of Telecommunications: Mohamad Choukeir (Future Movement)

- Minister of Public Works and Transportation: Youssef Finianos (Marada Movement)

- Minister of Culture: Mohammad Daoud (Amal Movement)

- Minister of Youth and Sports: Mohamad Fneish (Hezbollah)

- Minister of the Displaced: Ghassan Atallah (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs: Mahmoud Kamaty (Hezbollah)

- Minister of State for Administrative Development: May Chidiac (Lebanese Forces)

- Minister of State for Refugee Affairs: Saleh Al-Gharib (Lebanese Democratic Party)

- Minister of State for Foreign Trade: Hassan Mrad (Consultative Gathering)

- Minister of State for Presidency Affairs: Salim Jreissati (Free Patriotic Movement)

- Minister of State for Social and Economic Empowerment of Youth and Women: Violette Safadi (Future Movement)

- Minister of State for Information Technology Affairs: Adel Afiouni (Future Movement)

Source: Kataeb.org