Eight Candidates to Run in Tripoli's By-Election

  • Local
Eight Candidates to Run in Tripoli's By-Election

Eight candidates will be running in Tripoli's by-election as the deadline to submit candidacies ended Friday at midnight, the Interior Ministry said.

The candidates who registered to run for office are the following: Yehya Mawloud, Dima Jamali, Samer Kabbara, Talal Kabbara, Omar Al-Sayyed, Hamed Aamsheh, Mahmoud Al-Samadi and Mosbah Al-Ahdab.

The candidates can still step out of the race before Wednesday midnight.

The polls are slated for April 14.

The electoral district of Tripoli and Minieh-Doniyeh will witness another voting round after the Constitutional Council had annulled the win of MP Dima Jamali in the 2018 parliamentary elections, eight months after the polls were held.

The annulment was based on an appeal submitted by unsuccessful candidate Taha Naji who announced that he will refrain from running for office and boycott the polls.

Although Naji won the electoral appeal, the Constitutional Council decided to hold a by-election rather than naming him as Jamali’s replacement.

Source: Kataeb.org