A new feature is being launched in WhatsApp today which will allow people to send videos and images that will be automatically deleted after they have been viewed once.
The 'View Once' feature is only available on the latest version of WhatsApp, which is enabled by tapping an icon in the text bar before sending the message.
Users are also warned to "only send photos or videos with view once media enabled to trusted individuals" as it is still possible to take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears.
Some have seen the move as another feature which WhatsApp has copied from Snapchat, following the introduction of statuses in 2017.
It also follows the introduction of a similar feature called Vanish Mode that Facebook brought to Messenger and Instagram last year.
"While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record," stated the company.
"On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever.
"That's why today we're rolling out new View Once photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they've been opened, giving users even more control over their privacy.
"For example, you might send a View Once photo of some new clothes you're trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password," added Facebook.
The company also noted that if the recipient of the message chooses to report it, then the image or video will be forwarded to WhatsApp's security team.
Although messages on WhatsApp are end-to-end encrypted, when a person is reported then an unencrypted version of the most recent messages are sent to the company.